Dept of Sainik Welfare (DSW) & Zila Sainik Welfare Office (ZSWO)

At the State level, the resettlement and welfare of Ex-Servicemen is handled by one of the Ministries in the State Govt and the Secretary of the Dept concerned oversees the functioning of Dept of Sainik Welfare. The Depts of Sainik Welfare exercise general control and supervision over the Zila Sainik Welfare Offices some of which cover more than one revenue District. Like KSB at the Centre, there are 34 Rajya Sainik Boards (RSBs) functioning at the State/UT level and 413 Zila Sainik Boards (ZSBs) at district level. As Hon'ble RM is president of KSB, the Chief Minister of the State is the President of the Rajya Sainik Board in the State and District Collector is the Chairman of the Zila Sainik Board. The Secretaries to the Rajya Sainik Board are invariably the Directors of the Dept of Sainik Welfare and the Secretaries to the Zila Sainik Boards are the Zila Sainik Welfare Officers. The Zila Sainik Welfare Offices are established in the Zila which have population of 7,500 and above of ESM, their widows, dependents and families of serving defence personnel residing therein. However, in certain districts in remote / hilly areas, the population limitation of minimum of 7,500 may be waived off as stipulated in the rules. 

Click hereLink Icon( 1.9MB ) to download the list of RSBs and ZSBs

Back to Top